RSS

The best things in life…

31 Jul

“The best things in life
are the people we love,
the places we’ve been,
and the memories along the way…”

IMG_8366

St. Mary’s Center will forever be special to me.  I have gained so much more than I could ever imagine.  The stories that were exchanged, the laughter, and the warmth with just a simple smile are unforgettable.  Every person that I have interacted with over the two months have touched and impacted my life in some way without them even knowing.  My co-workers and clients have made St. Mary’s Center a place I can call home.  With the program being over, there is no way that I can walk away from St. Mary’s Center and let go of all my experiences.  Two months was way too short for me.  I love working there so much, and I know I will continue to work with this site.  I feel like there is more work and effort that I can do there for both myself and others. Once Summer ends, and I figure out what my schedule is like for my senior year, I will make my way back to St. Mary’s Center whether it be volunteering every week, a few times a month, or just for big events.  I have so much to give back to St. Mary’s Center for all the joy it has brought me, and I know St. Mary’s Center has more for me and my growth.

IMG_8042
I am forever grateful for this Micah Fellowship experience.  This has most definitely been the biggest challenge that I chose to put myself through.  Throughout my college years, I have piled on commitments, work, and responsibilities, but I felt like nothing could faze me.  Micah has pushed me out of my comfort zone, out of bounds even, and I couldn’t have been more proud of myself and the other 5 fellows.  I know we all used our voices. We also learned a lot about ourselves, and we all made decisions based on our self-care.  I saw a lot of growth in myself and my peers, and I know Micah has impacted us in some way moving forward.  Though times were not always perfect, I know that the rough moments were defining moments for each other and ourselves.  I will always look back at the Micah program as it has taught me many life skills within the two months.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2014 in 2014 Rachel Gacerez

 

Leave a Reply

 
