RSS
Aside
10 Jun

So in my first post I explained how my goal was that by the end of my fellowship, I would have fallen in love with Oakland and feel comfortable enough to call it a second home. Well, that time has already come, it took a week for me to fall in love with this place. I have never ben around so much diversity, I can honestly and literally say that I have been around the world and I have never seen anything like it. I love it. I think that diversity is one of the most beautiful things in the world; it is like a global delicacy, not every country/state/city can have it. Oakland really does get a bad reputation from  the social media, no one talks about the good stuff going on around here. Even in a town as close as Stockton all we hear about are the murders, rapes and car thefts. Lets be honest you are going to find that in any city environment, and yes I use city not town because Oakland has the characteristics that define what a city is. In this week I made it a point to use Bart, which is incredibly close, about a 10-15 minute walk. I decided to visit some friends in Moraga and I got there in about 10 minutes I couldn’t believe how close we were to school. We attended first Friday which is a monthly festival with dance performers, street vendors, second hand clothes/books/shoes, local art and this liberating atmosphere that makes you want to stay around for hours. I didn’t know I would find anything like it here in Oakland. Can’t wait to see what comes next!

IMG_5185IMG_5194IMG_5217IMG_5183

It only took a week

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 10, 2013 in 2013 Amelia Gomez

 

Leave a Reply

 
