RSS

In the beginning…

31 May

Hi y’all! I am writing from Community Coffee, a local Louisiana coffee shop. I am in New Orleans this week enjoying the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE). Attending NCORE has particularly excited me for the summer ahead. Social change, racism, intersectionality, white privilege, coalitions, and community are common topics at this conference and foreshadow my summer experience living in West Oakland and working in the Tenderloin in San Francisco. I am beyond excited to work in solidarity with locals, learn about the communities, and live apart from the white suburbs of Moraga. For the last three years at Saint Mary’s, I have learned about social change through Sociology and Women’s and Gender Studies courses. I am enthusiastic to put the theories of social change I have learned into practice. I am excited for the journey of growth that lies ahead!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 31, 2013 in 2013 Maggie Powers

 

Leave a Reply

 
