RSS

Freedom in Christ.

19 Jul

This summer and internship have been a place of growth for me.

While on this journey I have prayed about my growth and the ability to have a freedom that only God can provide and  this is what I got and so much more.

As I talked to my favorite person, Alvin, he truly helped me to understand what it meant to have freedom in Christ.

When Alvin continued to share bits and pieces of his life, he said something that completely lined up with the way of life I am trying to achieve.

He said: “Although I have lost both my parent, was forced to fight in Vietnam, and am living on the streets, I have Freedom in Christ, and that’s something that no one can take away from me”.

As I set down to meditate on what Alvin had just said, Galatians 5:1 made a lot more sense to me

“So Christ has truly set us free. Now make sure that you stay free, and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law.”

There have been many times this summer that I felt completely helpless to the people in West Oakland. Living in the community has open my eyes to a lot of the injustices that lie in our current society. These situations caused me to question if change could truly transform this city. But as Alvin spoke to me, I understood, that change is possible in EVERY city by the power of God.

I’m understanding that there’s a freedom in Christ that can transcend any situation and my faith in this freedom is becoming unmovable.

“So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”

– John 8:36

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
