RSS

The Origin of Our Species

17 Jul

My time interning at City Slicker Farms has been full of amazing experiences, but the best presence that I have felt since interning with the Farm was a healing power that I have never experienced before.

While I know that we were put here these 8 weeks to give to the community, my days at “work” started to feel like a time of healing and growth, both spiritually, and naturally. I have literally felt my relationship with Christ being renewed, transformed, and healed. It’s almost like I was being healed through the work that I am doing with the earth, the very creation of God.

For the first time in my life, I saw the process that it takes to produce food, the thing that sustains our natural bodies. But while I was growing natural food, I was neglecting my relationship with Christ, causing for spiritual starvation. The weird thing about it was that while I worked in the garden, I felt like I was being replenished and built up spiritually, but when I would return home at the end of the day, I felt something missing.

Why was I so connected to the work that I was doing in this garden? Why did I look forward to working in a Garden for 7 hours everyday?

Then it hit me! I started to think about the connection that we have with the Earth. A connection that for years has been neglected. Genesis 2 7-8,15 explains our origins.

“The Lord God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.

Now the Lord God had planted a garden in the east, in Eden; and there he put the man he had formed. And the Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground—trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food.

The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.”

The connection that I felt was suddenly not so foreign to me at all. But the fact that we never speak about our duty to the Earth or the very fact that we were formed from the dust of this earth, caused a void.

My work with City Slicker Farms this summer caused for a spiritual and natural rejuvenation. The garden was the very place where our relationship with God started. A relationship that was perfect and without blemish and here I was working in a garden for the whole summer. I can now see the connection in my life. Not only was the Garden of Eden a place where we were able to have a spiritual connection to God, it was a place that represented life and prosperity. I soon drew these connections to the feelings that I was experiencing. This garden (where I worked) was the very place were I found peace on a daily basis. It was literally like my relationship with Christ has been transformed and renewed to its purest form. The work that I have been doing with City Slickers, has helped me to realize that as humans we have a connection to this Earth, that dates further back then we can remember and sometimes tapping into that connection can be one of the most healing thing that we could do.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
