RSS
Aside
10 Jul

This past Saturday, I went to visit my sister in East Oakland, and in order to get to her I had to take Bart. The waiting area for the West Oakland Bart Station over looks my whole neighborhood (we live right across the street from the Bart Station). While on the platform waiting for my train to come, I stood looking out into my peaceful home and couldn’t help but to realize that I have literally fallen head-over-heels in love with West Oakland!

Now this was a big shock for me. If you’ve read my previous blog “Caution: Comfort Zone Ahead”, you know the apprehension I felt about staying in West Oakland. I was nervous about the crime and was even more scared of the fact that I wasn’t going to be home with my family. So for me to now be in love with this city is a bit of a 180 degree turn! When I embraced the city, its faults and all, is when I truly started to learn not only the city, but when I also started to unravel pieces of myself.

This is the very thing that I love about God. When I originally applied for this Internship I had no idea where it would take me. But one thing I do know is that it is only by Gods grace that I am discovering who I am, and who I want to be. I have noticed that the Lord uprooted me from the places that I truly wanted to be in and that I have enjoyed. But ive also realized that he has only moved me from Good places to place me in Great ones.

After understanding that the Lord has literally had me in the palm of his hand this whole time Jeremiah 29:11 kept echoing in the back of my mind,

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I’m learning to trust God, and in trusting him he has challenged me to learn more about myself, through drawing near to him.

Moving on Up.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in 2012 Treasha Weatherspoon

 

One response to “Moving on Up.

  1. Kaitlyn A.

    July 13, 2012 at 12:05 am

    I am so glad that you have been able to see your growth that has happened over the past seven weeks–it takes a person who is really comfortable, honest and reflective to notice it often. It scares me to think that we only have one more week here as a part of our internship, but I am so thankful that we have these blogs to reflect on in the future as reminders of what we have learned, goals for the future and memories to carry with us forever.

     

Leave a Reply

 
