RSS

See It For Yourself

06 Jul

There are all different types of people in the Bay Area, but I have been somewhat introduced to a great diversity of people in the Tenderloin community.  I have been learning about the importance of seeing life from other perspectives.  If I only understand my values and only some others, how would I be able to judge my own values?  I have found it very important to understand other people’s viewpoints about life.  It can be dangerous to be close-minded, because it prevents you from understanding other people’s way of thinking.   The more close-minded you are, the more likely you are to be judgmental.  On the other hand, I have found out that when you are open minded to other ideas, you are able to understand why people think the way they do.  There is always something that makes us think a certain way or have certain values.  If ten people were to look at a detailed picture of something, all of them would have slightly different explanation of what they saw.  In relation to our world, people are raised differently with different cultures, values, backgrounds and experiences that build their way of thinking about the world.  I have had conversations with people in the Tenderloin community about religion, wars, corruption, prostitution and more.  I heard things I did not know before and it introduced me to things I was not familiar with.  If I did not take the time to talk to those people, I would not have been familiar with the ideas they introduced to or at least not at that particular time.

People can tell you a certain belief is wrong or this and that, but I feel that it is important to see it for yourself.  It is important to talk to people of that belief and do your own research instead of following others without really thinking about their ideas.  We must try to see life from other people’s point of view and be in their shoes before forming our own ideas and stereotypes.  I end with this verse, which sums it all, “Do not judge by appearances, but judge with right judgment” (John 7:24).   As God does not care about outer appearance but the heart, we must also not look at the covering but the inside and the truth.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2012 in 2012 Mehari Haile

 

2 responses to “See It For Yourself

  1. micahfellowship

    July 11, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Great advice Mehari! It’s easy to forget how no two people see the world in exactly the same way… I’m happy to hear that you’ve been making the most out of your experience in the Tenderloin and reaching out to the homeless individuals living in the community. In your work, you get to work directly with low income people and get a glimpse into the their view of the world. Do you have any advice for someone like me who does not necessarily get the opportunity to talk with members of the community? Can I still “see it for myself” when my work involves indirect service? Excited to read the next blog!

    – Danny

     
  2. Kaitlyn A.

    July 13, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Over the course of the past month and a half, I have been really impressed how you have taken the initiative in getting to know the Tenderloin community firsthand–that is not something that was ever asked of you, but something that you chose to do. It shows that you were deeply interested in the people there and wanted to make sure that this experience made as big of an impact on your life as possible. Thank you for challenging all of us to deepen our relationships with one another by keeping an open mind and seeing all of the strengths that others bring to the table by keeping an open mind.

     

Leave a Reply

 
