RSS
Video

28 Jun

Background!!

While in church one Sunday, I sat down next to an energetic young man, by the name of Tyree Boyd-Pates. Throughout the whole service, it was apparent, that we both had a love for Christ, that went way deeper than anyone could tell.

Now when I think back to that day in church, I realize that the Zeal we both had for Christ was so powerful that we had and have no choice but to be a living sacrifice, trying to present ourselves holy and acceptable before Him. (Romans 12)

When I wrote my last post on being young an effecting change, I knew that it could happen, but I was skeptical about MY generations ability to effect change.

Then I come across this video entitled “Truth Serum teaser trailer” starring none other than Tyree Boyd-Pates..

The goal of this group of videos is “ that believers may feel equipped, lost might find hope, and those struggling with faith might find resolution in some of the answers provided by God’s word”.

When thinking about this series of videos and all that Tyree, and his fellow comrades were doing, this scripture came to mind,

Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.
– 1Peter 4:10-11

Not only is Tyree, and this project a living reflection of this scripture, but he is a living reflection of the power of God’s Spirit that Christ has caused to dwell in ALL of us. Tyree and his gifts had me thinking about the gifts that God has given me, and I’m realizing that while serving in West Oakland, it is imperative for me to be in constant contact with the Holy Spirit. 1 Corinthians 2: 10-12 states,

The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit within him? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us.
-1 Corinthians 2: 10-12

This scripture helped me to understand that in order to know how God would have me to lead and serve in West Oakland I first have to be in tune with his Spirit.

From here on out, I’m going to let the Holy Spirit lead, while I follow it’s every move.

“But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”
– John 14:26

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
