RSS

I Must Die so that Christ Lives

25 Jun

“Lord, I want my life to be a love letter from Christ, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God. Not on tablets of stone but on the tablet of my heart. Holy Spirit, remind me that I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.”


Recently I have been thinking about love and its meaning.  God defines love as the greatest commandment, which makes me think that if you love people, you are at the best place that you can ever be at.  Of course, it is much easier said than it is done.  I find myself not living to my full potential concerning love.  God commands that I love my neighbors, friends, strangers, and enemies.  Jesus sets the bar high when he says, “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighborand hate your enemy’.  But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.  If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?  Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect” (Matt. 5:43-48).  As a Christian, I am supposed to love everyone regardless of who they are and what they have done to others or me.  Jesus fulfilled the law by setting the standards higher than they were in the Old Testament.  He demands that we do everything in love.  Jesus is concerned with our hearts and motives.  He desires that our hearts are pure, peaceful, and without evil.  Everyone loves their friends, but not everyone loves their enemies.  I find it easy to love my friends as it is mentioned above, but find it hard to express the same love to those that are my enemies.

After wrestling in my heart, I see that Christ is not fully alive in my heart the way God designed me to be.  I realize that the “I” attitude that is in me needs to die so that Christ can fully live.  It is the “I” attitude that causes me not to love everyone.  I also realize that I cannot love my enemies without Christ living inside of me.  When Christ is fully alive in a person, it is not that person really doing the good deeds that God requires of us, but it is Christ who does the good deeds. After one is born again, Christ supposed to be the driver, but sometimes I forget that and try to do things on my own and then realize that I cannot do it without Him.  I want my way of living to be the way Christ desires for me to live, which is to love God with all my heart, mind, soul, and strength and to love everyone.  These are the greatest commandments and no one can go wrong with these ideas and practice.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in 2012 Mehari Haile

 

Leave a Reply

 
