RSS
Video

Technology: The Monster That’s Consuming My Life

13 Jun

Throughout this last school year, I worked at St. Martin de Porres School in Oakland as an after school staff member. I was shocked by the amount of cell phones, iPods, and other devices that the elementary school students would bring with them to school. As a child, I wasn’t allowed to bring my video games to school. Cell phones were owned solely by men and women who needed them for business. I thought to myself, “Wow, times have changed…”

On Monday, I woke up in the morning to find out that our Internet and cable connection had been disconnected at our home. My mind immediately thought of the current sporting events: the French Open, Euro Cup, NBA Finals… how would I continue to follow Portugal’s progress in the soccer tournament, which comes only once every 4 years, without being able to DVR the games while I’m at work? How will I stay connected with my friends when I can’t log on to Facebook at the end of the day? After doing some research, I learned that I should be concerned with more than just maintaining my social life and being updated on the Euro Cup, my unconscious need for technology could lead to something much more serious – health issues. The above video is a segment taken from the television show “The View Around the Bay”. It describes how the constant use of technology can have an affect the most complex organism known to man, our brains.

My one unexpected day without technology has taught me more than I would’ve ever imagined. I’m not that different from the 4th and 5th graders that I worked with this last year. Although I don’t walk around with ear buds in my ears and videogames in hand, I too have the same problem that they do. Living simply is one of the stresses of the Micah Fellowship. This incident makes me question, is it possible to do this in a world that is run by technology? Can I DVR my Euro Cup games and still be living simply? I’ll keep you posted! Thanks for reading =]

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in 2012 Danny Vieira

 

One response to “Technology: The Monster That’s Consuming My Life

  1. Ryan M. Lamberton

    June 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Thank you for sharing. How can your respond based on what you learned from this experience? You share: “This incident makes me question, is it possible to do this in a world that is run by technology? Can I DVR my Euro Cup games and still be living simply? I’ll keep you posted!” My response: Is the world run by technology or are we addicted to technology? How can we have a healthy relationship with technology? What choices can/will you make with regard to how you use and don’t use technology? How much agency do you have? Again, thank you for sharing. Your thoughts have helped me to reflect upon how much time I spend in front of screen…

     

Leave a Reply

 
