RSS

The Dream of Independence and Reality of Interdependence

09 Jun

I must admit, there is something extremely powerful when you realize that it has only been by God’s grace that you have made it this far!

As I was meditating on what to write this Blog about, I couldn’t help but to think about how at one point in my life I was completely lost and searching for the “Independence” that society tells us we should have.

You know what I’m talking about, because since we were young kids we’re taught that the goal is to be able to take care of ourselves, to be self-sufficient. Everything within our society values the qualities that lead to independence and half of our population believes that they have “pulled themselves up by their boot straps”.

After thinking about this “independence” that I never found, I started to think about the Interdependence that God calls me to have. In Proverbs 3:5 it says

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.”

 While this is only one passage, there are many more times when God calls us to trust and rely on him and I’ve realized that our relationship with God is a very interdependent one. Christ counts on us daily to be a living reflection of him, and we count on him to give us the strength to act as he did. But interdependence doesn’t stop there. In Romans God calls us to also be interdependent upon one another.

“Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others”

                                                                                    -Romans 12:4-5

I understand how easy it is to claim independence, but I also know that it takes more strength to operate in interdependence and I suppose that’s why Christ calls us to live interdependently with Him and each other.

When thinking about my journey thus far, I thought about how many times I boasted in “MY” achievement of making the Deans List, being named BSU President, and teaching children in a low-income area. But in only acknowledging these achievements as my own I failed to give credit to My father, who supported 3 girls on his own, or my grandmother, who was the first to plant the idea of college in my mind, and Christ has never left or forsaken me, all while directing my path to St. Mary’s and much more.

See the problem with claiming independence is that it never recognizes or appreciates the people and Deity who helped us reach our greatest achievements.

The truth of the matter is that we need each other.

We need each other to Love

We need each other to Transform

We need each other for Change.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in 2012 Treasha Weatherspoon

 

One response to “The Dream of Independence and Reality of Interdependence

  1. Michelle Cafagna

    June 18, 2012 at 2:31 am

    Wow sis. Sucha good read and on time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
