RSS

Becoming Selfless And Learning from Life Experiences

07 Jun

June 4, 2012

One of the things I am trying to accomplish this summer is build relationships with the people in the Tenderloin community.  The reason I want to do this is because I am very interested in their stories and I want to get to know who they are and learn from their life experiences.  I also want to help them in any way I can if I have the ability to do so.  One of my favorite verses in the Bible states, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world” (James 1:27).  God desires that I serve his people and do the right thing.  I can pray and read God’s word all day, but if I do not serve others, my relationship with God becomes pointless.  It is like a tongue that talks so much and about every thing, but never does any thing in action.  If I do not help the widow, the orphan, the homeless, or people in general that can use my help, how am I serving others?  I am happy that I am learning about the importance serving during this summer.

I personally believe that the heart of Christianity is obedience to God’s word.  It is when I obey God’s word that I can love people selflessly, love my enemies, and pray for people that may persecute me.  I want to transfer this idea and way of thinking to my daily life.  I have been very blessed this past week and half to have had great opportunities to talk to some homeless or marginally housed San Francisco residents.  In the beginning it was difficult on how to start the conversation, because I did not want to offend them unknowingly.  But through time, I have learned and now I feel comfortable talking to them.  I have met at least one person almost everyday during my lunch hour and I have learned from their way of life, thinking, perspectives, and life experiences.  It is amazing that I always take some thing very meaningful and important from each conversation that I have with them.  I have been placed at the right place this summer!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in 2012 Mehari Haile

 

Leave a Reply

 
