RSS

Change through Love

29 May

 

As I sit in the living room of our 2 bedroom apartment in the heart of West Oakland I can’t help but to think about my goals for the next 2 months.

While the goal of most people would be social change, I have something a little different in mind.

What would a world look like that not only SAID they believed in the teachings of Christ, but actually LIVED it out?

When thinking about the type of imprint I would like to leave on West Oakland, my motivation doesn’t lie so much in the changing of legislation, or a march on Oakland. For me true change starts in the act of Love.

Because at the heart of Christ’s radical message of giving to all who ask (Matthew 5:42) and praying for those who persecute you (Matthew 5:44), was the idea that our society needs a change in morals, and shift to the value system of Love. And I couldn’t agree more!

This week while exploring the city Danny, Kaitlyn, Mehari (my roommates) and I came across a mural in West Oakland that featured prominent figures who have encouraged change all around the world. What I realized was that for these figures love wasn’t reduced to a feeling, but it was transformed into action. And when love is transformed into more than flowers and candies for a significant other, or a romantic dinner by candlelight, it results in True Change!

So if I had one goal this summer in the community of West Oakland, it’s to change the perception of Love from a “feeling”, to something that’s Lived.

“Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.”

                                                                                                -1John 3:17

 

Leave a Reply

 
